The Art of Rejection

Well I have auditioned yet again. Let me tell you there is nothing more nerve racking, and down right horrible, than auditioning. This weekend I auditioned for The Playmill Theatre in West Yellowstone, Mt. The audition was held at BYU in Provo. I am not exactly sure how I did… but I didn’t end up getting a callback, but that necessarily doesn’t mean anything. It is just disappointing not to get one, because when you do get one you feel like your chances of getting in are higher. I have a good resume and my high school drama teacher wrote me a great letter of recommendation. So hopefully something will come of it. Auditions are so nerve racking because you have 3 minutes to completely impress a director and make them want to cast you. That is a LOT of pressure. This time around I was really nervous, because I really want to get in. They are doing Beauty and the Beast, The Foreigner, and Seven Brides for Seven Brothers. If you are cast you are placed in 2 or all three of them. In my mind I have already headed up to Yellowstone for the summer and if I don’t get in… I will obviously be saddened. But my plan “B” is to just get into school as soon as possible and then try again for something later. This is the only thing I honestly hate about theatre, auditioning and rejection. It can gnaw at the very core of your being. I won’t find out if I got in until probably after the 13th… or later. So now all I can do is wait and hope. I can take rejection rather easily. Its part of being in theatre… but this one is something I want extremely bad… so the rejection will sting a little worse.

Leave a Reply

