Page to Screen

I know it has been almost a week since my last post…and I am very sorry. The internet has been out for that time. Apparently no one in the family desperately needed it. My Dad has a new blackberry that connect his laptop to the internet and I had my Iphone… so we were all content. I decided to just call and get it fixed so I could start using my laptop again. I feel like it has been neglected. The Iphone is so handy in situations like that. I have little applications that connect me right to Facebook and other major websites that I use. I even have an app that connects me to blogger. I just never felt like typing out a whole post on it.

I have been reading a lot lately and wanted to share some good books. Something I have recently come to realize is that many movies that win Oscars at one point were very good books. Take for example; The Lord of the Rings Return of the King. Return was by far the best film in the trilogy, and in my opinion the best book of the trilogy. Peter Jackson carefully took the story from page to screen and did it with an amazing outcome. So it deservingly won best picture. While in Des Moines auditioning for LAMDA I picked up a book. I finished it about 5 days ago…. not actually starting it until 7 days ago. I found myself one night reading pretty much the entire book. The book is called ” The Road” by Cormac McCarthy. It will so been made into a movie starring Viggo Mortensen. It is written by a Pulitzer Prize winner and also by the same man who wrote No Country for Old Me-which was made into a movie. A very good movie. So I am thinking of checking that book out also. I found the book to be very interesting and emotional and I suggest you read it before you see the movie. Then while at Target the other day I noticed they had a section of books that corresponded to the movies nominated for awards this year. So I picked up; The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Revolutionary Road, and The Reader. I have already read the short story of Benjamin Button and recommend it for a good read one night. I think it would be a particularly good book to read aloud. I have just started reading Revolutionary Road and so far it is quite good. I will keep you updated on it, also on The Reader.

Here is the description on the back of “The Road” by Cormac McCarthy:

“A father and his son walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape save the ash on the wind. It is cold enough to crack stones, and when the snow falls it is gray. They sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don’t know what, if anything, awaits them there. They have nothing; just a pito to defend themselves against the lawless bands that stalk the road, the clothes they are wearing, a cart of scavenged food-and each other.
The Road is the profoundly moving story of a journey. It boldly imagines a future which no hope remains, but in which the father and his son,”each the other’s world entire,” are sustained by love.”

I want each and every single person who read my blog to READ this book…and only see the movie after reading it.

I guess the moral of the story is… Read before Watching.

2 thoughts on “Page to Screen”

  1. Hey Brother, Mom gave me The Road last year. She said the title sounded like something I would like. Funny thing is I would have picked it up for sure from the title but probably wouldnt have bought it after reading the description. Glad mom did though becuase I liked it.

Leave a Reply

