Seattle and LAMDA

Well I just got back from Seattle and my Audition for The London Academy of Music and Dramatic Arts. My mom was nice enough to drive the 4 1/2 hours from Spokane. We left at 5:30 in the morning on the day of my audition. I was nervous that we wouldn’t make it on time to my 2:40 in the afternoon audition. I was also worried that we would get lost as it was located in the suburb of Seattle. The audition was held at Highline Community College in Des Moines, Wa. It was a crappy little college in a weird sea port town. After arriving 3 hours early to my audition… my bad… I finally went in for my audition. I was greeted by a real life Englishman; accent, sweater vest, brown loafers, the works. He sat me down and asked what pieces I was going to present and what song I was going to sing. He then had me get to it. I presented my two monologues and then sang my song. He had me go over my Shakespeare piece a couple of times-seeing if I would respond to the critiquing and and training. I then had a short interview where he told me a little about LAMDA and I asked a few questions. All in all in wasn’t a bad audition… but I am doubtful if anything will come from it. It is an extremely hard school to get into. What I am hoping for now is a call back in Mid-March. The callback would be held in London, UK. : D My nerves were shot for the day so we headed over to downtown Seattle to check into our Hotel. It was in a great location right next to Pikes Place Market and Pier 55 and a short car trip over to the Space Needle. It was fun to walk around the city and experience the noises and people. Some of the highlights of the trip were indeed highlights. We started off this morning walking down to Pier 55 which houses the Seattle Aquarium and Boardwalk and an amazing little shop called, “Ye Olde Shop of Curiosity”. Before heading over to shop my Mom and I enjoyed a seattle classic… Starbucks! The Shop was incredible. It had real mummies shrunken heads and torsos and two headed calves and old machines that play dirty shows for a dime( Don’t worry I didn’t watch them. One was called “Lady Takes a Bath”). There was also a fortune telling machine right out of the Tom Hanks movie “Big”. We spent a good hour in the shop and found some cool odd things. We then headed over to Pikes Place Market and then to Subway to eat. We checked out of the Hotel and decided to go to the Space Needle as the finale touristy thing of the day. This by far was my favorite thing of the trip. It was a great experience being in such an Iconic building of the city. AND in true Seattle style we had another cup of Starbucks coffee while sitting in the sky.

Pictures:





2 thoughts on “Seattle and LAMDA”

Leave a Reply

