TJ MAXX and ME

“Hello! (Smile). Did you find everything alright today?… ( Wait for reply. If positive. Smile and Laugh. If they mention they were disappointed that they couldn’t find a certain product sigh slightly and say “Sorry about that.”) Please don’t swipe your card yet. I am not finished scanning your items and it may freeze the system. It looks like your total is going to come to 200 even today… you could save 20 dollars if you would apply for the TJX Rewards Card. (Smile. The customer will most likely refuse but insist that 10% is a great savings. If the answer again is “No”, tell them the benefits) For every 200 dollars you spend in store you will receive a 10 dollar coupon in the mail towards your next purchase! (If the answer is still “No”……GIVE UP!)”

As a part of my job we are required to ask the customer every time if they want one of those stupid TJX Rewards cards. If we don’t and the customer notices they get a free bottle of water, and we get yelled at. So far I have never missed a customer and never had anyone take a bottle of water from me. Some people are extremely nice and say, “Oh No Thank You. But thanks for asking.” Then others stop you mid sentence, “NO!… its fine. Like I would want that.” I want to reach over and punch the mean ones in the face. I often visualize myself yelling at messy or disgruntled customers and it feels so nice. The other day while working a woman came up to the counter with a card load of stuff. One of the items did not have a tag. This particular item was a sports bra and would be located in the Activewear section. As no one was available to do a price check for me, I had to go find it. I looked for about 5 minutes but couldn’t find the same bra. So I grabbed the one that was most similar to it. I went back up to my register and asked the woman if $9.99 was okay. She looked at it then looked at me and very smugly replied, “Those aren’t the same. I will not pay that price it is way to much!” I replied, “I could not find this particular item on the rack, so I grabbed a similar item. Did you happen to find this in another area of the store?” She then asked with the most disgusting tone, “Where in the hell did you look?”. Becoming extremely annoyed and aggravated myself, “I went to the Activewear section were this item would be located.” Her eyes became really big and she breathed real loud and threw her hands up, “Are you stupid or something? Why in the hell would a bra be in the Activewear section? Of all the lines! I can’t believe I picked yours. How stupid can you be?” This really pissed me off (Pardon my french) so I just starred at her for a second then replied, “Well you see this little number here (referring to the the section number on the tag) this means Activewear… so that is where I went to find it. Obviously this item was placed in the wrong section. There was no reason for your insults and you have no right to speak with me that way. I was only trying to help you. Now you can either pay the $9.99 or find it yourself.” A couple of people in line behind her were laughing. She was mad but obviously embarrassed and then picked up the bra and threw it on the floor by my register. Then she pushed her cart out of the way and said in the most bitter tone she could muster, “Fine if you don’t want my business I will take it to someplace that values my patience and reasonable comments.” As she walked out the door I added a quick, ” I hope you have a great day and a Merry Christmas to you!” A few other customers and some of my fellow employees were watching by now. The next customer in line just happened to be one of the nicest old ladies on this planet. After I had finished ringing up the last customers in line. My manager walked over to me. She had witnessed the whole thing but never stepped in. She stopped in front of me and simply said, “Nicely Done!” and walked away.

I was curious about the actual price of the sports bra she was trying to buy. I went over to the bra section and found a whole bunch of them in the wrong place. This woman had declared that $9.99 was way to much. Although, could have had a great buy. The actual price of the bra, $29.99.

“Customer service is not a department, it’s an attitude!”-UNKNOWN

I never got around to sharing these. For Halloween we could dress up for work… and not missing an opportunity to create the illusion of another person I decided to do it. Can you guess who I am?…………..

If You guessed Mark Twain you are correct.

One thought on “TJ MAXX and ME”

  1. Oh my gosh! I am so proud for standing up to the bra lady. I admit I will be a little nicer the next time I’m asked to sign up for a store card. When I worked at the GAP I would hide from certain customers.

Leave a Reply

