Phantom of the Opera-Reviewed!


The orchestra began to play, the lights dimmed, and the audience continued talking. The lady sitting to the right of me tells her friend, “I have seen this show over a hundred times…of course this one doesn’t compare to the one in New York”. A man behind me groans, “How long is this show?”. This is the audience in a broadway touring show. One of the greatest parts of a show like Phantom is the orchestra. Although I was often unable to hear them through the talking. The audience talked through the overture and the Entrée Act. Out of respect to the musicians who are working just as hard as the actors and others involved in the show, I feel like the audience should remain quite during these moments. My only real problems with this show happen to be audience related and will point many more out.
Technically this show was the best I have ever seen. The raising of the Chandelier is one of the most Iconic scenes in Musical Theatre history. The illusion was a little off as a sheet covering the facade stuck to the chandelier and had to be removed by the actor playing the auctioneer. Although, I have to say I didn’t mind. I love when you can tell the mistakes in plays. As a performer some of the best moments on stage are when you have to keep acting through the mistakes. I like to see how an actor can handle the situation, to me that is a talent in itself. The chandelier was freed and rose above the audience-even though flash photography was prohibited, hundreds of flashes emerged from the audience and in took me out of the play for a few minutes. Although the audience had a great ability to take me out of the play, the performers had a way of bringing me right back in.
The actors in the leads were well placed. Besides their extraordinary singing voices, their believability was awesome. You could honestly feel the anguish that the phantom was going through towards the end of the show. Another great moment of the show was during the title song, “The Phantom of the Opera”. The phantom led Christine(the led female) to his lair. The stage began to move up and down and made it appear as if they were going down into the catacombs of the theatre. The phantom then places her in a boat and it begins to move. The stage is then covered in a massive layer of fog-from dry ice-that falls off the edge of the stage like a waterfall.

All in all it was a great show and I would love to see it again. Although I would prefer to see it in New York or Vegas were the show is a permanent fixture in a singular theatre.

Leave a Reply

