War Letters


For the last couple of months I have been working on my Senior Project. As I have said before it involves the book called War Letters, which was written and edited by Andrew Carroll. I posted earlier my script from State Drama. I now have elaborated on that script adding real War Letters from the books and it is now a 30 page play. I can not post it on the internet due to legal reasons, and I will not be able to post a video of the performance either. So if you ant to see it, come to Idaho in May. Andrew Carroll is a New York Times bestseller and has been praised for his many works. Four months ago he visited my school to speak of his book. My English teacher from last year knew that I was involved in theatre, so she asked me to present a dramatic interpretation of the War Letters. I was able to perform in front of the entire Junior and Senior class before Mr. Carroll was going to speak. He didn’t get to see it all, but caught that last bit, as he was at Lake City High School also speaking. I was able to meet him after and he gave me his personel e-mail in order to keep him updated on my progress. It has been a big help having the actual writter helping me. I had recently asked him about “source” issues. He wrote back, ” I appreciate your checking in with me about the sourcing and permissions, and for now we should be OK. But I can only do it for this one time; we actually have contracts with other theater production companies, and it’s actually a very complicated process. I wouldn’t expect you to know all of this, and, again, we should be fine for your purposes at the school, but the letters are under copyright and it raises a host of legal issues to use them in any public performance.” I hold auditions on Monday for the play. The final script has over 20 parts, but I will double cast people to have 2 parts each. I am not going to charge an entrance fee, but instead ask for a donation of some sort. I had orginally planned to donate this money to the Legacy Project(Andrew Carroll started this as a means to preserve the letters, the books soon emerged. Then I found out that the Legacay Project does not accept monetary donations. So I asked Carroll what he thought would be the best place to donate. He told me about Ward 57. “Walter Reed Army Medical Center (WRAMC) in Washington DC is the Army’s flagship hospital and first base for America’s returning warriors fresh from the battlefield. Ward 57 at the hospital is known as “the amputee ward”. The painful sacrifice of losing a limb or two or three is the nightmarish new battle the soldiers and their families now fight.

“Operation Ward 57″ is not just a way for individuals to show support for amputee soldiers, but an expedient system to raise funds for items needed on Ward 57. The program is run through pro-football player Kerry Carter’s THINK BIG FOUNDATION, a 501(c) 3 not-for-profit, Tax ID: 20-196-2446, in partnership with Atmosphere Artist Management LLC.”

I can not wait to start.

War Letters

I strongly suggest you read the books:

War Letters
Operation Homecoming
Grace Under Fire
Behind the Lines

They are al incredible. Filled with amazing stories.

One thought on “War Letters”

Leave a Reply

