The Presence…By Bryant

Below is a Monologue that I wrote last year. I am still re-writing on it. So it is incomplete, and probably FULL of typos, ex.

(John sits upon a chair next to a desk, he writes for a moment in a leather journal with a quill, he breathes deeply as he writes sorrow torments his mind, he speaks as if speaking his own writings and thoughts)My dearest Journal, my name as you know is Jonathan Edwards, at this date I’m 19 years of age……It has been years sense I have written my thoughts down upon paper……..I am writing today to recall the incidents which occurred on two evenings past……….as I slept in my bed I awoke to a swift blow of the wind……the night was dark and the scenery outside was unrecognizable……I went back into a deep sleep and did not stir….that was until a dull thud emerged from the kitchen below….was it mother up to cook morning breakfast?…..No, the sun was not dew for a few more hours. I reached out to grab my eye glasses on the bedside table, they were missing. I raised from bed in a blinded state, the house was cool…I could see my breath rise in front of me, the floor froze my feet and the air punctured my lungs…..another thud from below even louder than before….I opened my room door and the floor creaked, it startled me and I fled back inside the door. My nerves were in shock…something seemed wrong…it was as if something evil was taking place. I once more emerged from my room and on to the landing……another thud…I could hear my younger brothers snores from the room next room…a candle still burned in the frame of my mothers room were no sound was heard from……another thud…the candle light flickered as a hard draft rushed through the house…the candle regained its constant glow as I started for the stairs…I reached the first step I stopped….from downstairs no light was seen and no presence seemed noticeable. I stepped down once more and a voice behind me softly and calmly asked what I was doing. This startled me and I turned quickly, my mother stood above me in her night gown holding a the candle which had lit her room…another thud more harsh than the last…I stared at my mother then stepped down even farther…..another thud this time from the sitting room…my heart was beating faster and faster as I took more and more steps down. My mother followed and her breath floated past me with everyone loud gasp of air……..another thud this time the loudest….I noticed my brothers snoring had coast, I turned to look upstairs and there a few steps behind my mother was my brother William. I gave my brother a nod and bekend him to move by my side…I whispered to him that he and mother were to go together into the kitchen and see if there was any disturbance….I was to go into the sitting room….My heart beat faster and faster my breath shortened and the cold sank into my chest…the final steps…….I raced down, grabbing the banister swung around the edge and pounced with a swift motion into the sitting room were the dark seemed almost as chilling as it had looked….I looked deep into the dark searching with my eyes for the cause of this noise….another thud this time from he kitchen…a scream…..my mother!……another scream….My brother. I froze in place I could not move….the screams had startled me so that I could not move! I could not lift my legs, I tried and tried and managed only to fall to the ground…..the screams continued for what seemed to be hours…..slowly every so slowly my brothers screams ceased……my mother continued screaming for sometime and then her screaming came to a rest….I laid on the frozen ground….I could not move…..my brother and mother in mortal danger and I could not move…..I heard them scream in pain…..there was no telling what had happened…..I knew only one thing, they were dead. They were dead and I had done nothing……..I lay on the floor for hours not being able to move…….then I heard it once more…. the thud. I regained my footing and the strength came back as quickly as it had gone. I ran towards the thud…I reached the kitchen. A fowl stench stung my nostrils and I gagged…..I stopped I hunched over and I gagged once more……I covered my mouth and nose and looked up……my mother lay in a heap upon the floor…….my brother……my……..my brother lay next to me…..his face still……his eyes staring off to nowhere…….and from my brothers glazing eyes I saw it…….a small reflection from inside his eyes……I raised up and hugged the wall…..my breathing began to increase…..I am not sure of what I have seen but I am sure that what I have seen was not human or animal……there crouched upon the floor was a beast of ungodly features……his body was naked and his eyes flared red and he looked upon me…..I stared into his eyes….I felt evil beyond all evil…..the evil consumed me it rushed through my body as I stared…….Then the monster spoke.(at this point Jonathan turns around and turns back around as the beast, in his hand is a rat, his breathing is harsh and coarse, his eyes are intense, he speaks) I am God the Holy Father! I am God the Holy Father! I AM GOD THE HOLY FATHER!(the beast gasps for air his voice becomes bitter and evil pours from his mouth) I am God the Holy father!(thent he monster laughs evilly and nasty, coarse and sour, he looks down and bites the rat, he bites and smears the rat across his face) I am…..Satan………the Son of Evil.(laughs hysterically)I am SATAN the SON OF EVIL. I AM SATAN the son of evil. Try the rat its delicious!………….its time…..its TIME……….ITS TIME………..ITS TIME FOR THE WORLD TO KNOW WHAT I AM………………I AM THE SON OF EVIL THE FATHER OF DEATH THE SOUL OF SIN……………..I AM SATAN, LUCIFER, THE DEVIL.(the beast begins to eat at the rat once more, and he stands and turns and Johan than is present once more)………The beast pounced…he grabbed at my neck……..I smoked the monster across the face, it retreated to a corner…..I stared horror struck and fear ragged through my body……….I stared and as I stared the beast gave me one final look through his red eyes and he lurched past me and ran through the darkness…….I heard the door slam…….I collapse upon the floor and awoke the next morning, my brother and mother dead upon the floor……..I am writing this down now, because……I am to be hung for the murder of my Brother and Mother……I am to die………I am to die……I am to die…….I write this down so the world will know the truth…..I did not murder my Mother and Brother…….I did not……Satan murdered them……Satan took their lives……..Satan was in my home……Satan murdered my family…..(his eyes go glazed and his smiles wickedly) The only truly horrible thing about all this is that…..Satan murdered my family……but I let him in…….I told him to do it……..I gave him permission…….I sold my soul for eternal salvation….at the price of my family….Satan owns me and I owe him thanks for what he has given me.(sits at desk begins to write) My dearest Journal, my name is Jonathan Edwards and I have meet the devil. -scene-

Leave a Reply

