I Curse Your Soul….By Bryant

Below is a script I wrote a year ago for a workshop, its not he best, but give me some feedback!

ACT ONE SCENE ONE
(the room is dark, then soft lights come on giving the effect of candles. a loan simple wooden table sits at center, two chairs sit of two the right,a bible sits on the table)(Music begins to softly play, its a mournful tune,the music stops, Elizabeth and Minister John Puller enter, Anne Hutchinson hands are tied behind her back and her hair is in a mess, John Puller is nicely groomed and, he pushes Anne Hutchinson into her seat)
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
(holding up the bible) This is the Holy Bible is it not?
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
Yes.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
What is the main purpose of this holy document, after all you should know, your father was in fact a minister as am I. You should be well learned in its contents.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
(very bitter) The main purpose of this document sir is to spread the word of the Lord and to teach the Laws of God.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
Very good….and may I ask why you are sitting at this table now, with your hands tied behind your back and why for the last week have you been sitting in a dark and bleak cell?
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
For that sir I can not say for I have done nothing wrong, except spread the word of the truth and nothing more.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
(enraged) You have done nothing wrong? My lady do you not realize that what you have done is in fact High Heresy in the eyes of the beholder, do you not see(getting in close to Annes face)that what you have done is to make a treaty with Satan himself?
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
(taken aback) I have never compacted anything such with Satan. What I have preached is from God himself.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
How do you not know that what you preached has not come from the devil?
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
I know that it has not come from the devil the same as I know that Moses parted the sea. It comes in a godly fashion , I think that is far enough reason to believe that it in fact comes from the Lord.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
(picking up the bible again) Do you know that what this book contains is pure fact, sister Wheeler do you not see that.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
I see it as plain as any man sir.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
(furious) Then why do you seek to destroy it?
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
(standing)I have never sought to destroy.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
Would you kindly sit?…..(a hard stare at Anne Hutchinson, who in turn does not sit) You Will sit immediately!(Anne Hutchinson slowly sits)(Puller also sits and opens the bible on the table he reads for a moment then looks up,Anne Hutchinson sits staring away from Puller, Puller takes a paper out of his pocket, he begins to read) That the Law and the preaching of it, is of no use at all to drive a man to Christ…. (Anne Hutchinson turns and looks at him)(Puller continues resiting)That a man is united to Christ and justified, without faith; yea, from eternity……..(together)
ANNE HUTCHINSON AND MINSISTER JOHN PULLER:
(they say this toghether as John read and Anne does so from memory) God loves a man never the better for any holiness in him, and never the less, be he never so unholy.(Puller stops reading and puts the document in his pocket)What is meant by these statements Sister Wheeler?
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
You should know more than anyone John.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
(angry) You will call of me Sir and of nothing more do you hear?
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
Yes Sir!
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
What is meant by these statements?
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
What is meant by these statements is that what you are preaching is surely wrong.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
How dare you say that! What these statements are, they are messages from Satan.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
These are my bieliefes according to those in which you have set the standard , if we are predestined to heaven then why is it that we need to obey the laws that are set before us. Why should we go to church on the sabbath or give thanks to the Lord when he has already decided on our future in heaven.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
You dont know what you speak of!
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
I know exactly what I speak of, you and the authorities are naive to this fact.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
We are not naive, we our men of God and he has not proclaimed any of this information unto us.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
The lord need not bestow all unto you and your fellow ministers sir, The Lord does work in mysterious ways.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
Why would he waste time on you?
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
I am of goodly nature sir, in the eyes of the Lord I am holy enough to resive such messages.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
If these messages were in fact from the Lord he would give sign to the Ministries as to this new change. It has been our teachings for years that if there is anything the Lord wishes to declare to an individual that is not in the authority of the church that he give sign as to the truth, and Sister Wheeler there has been no sign of truth in what you have preached.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
The Truth is all around sir, do you not see that we live in a time of hardships sir, and the Lord has given us commandments that will better our lives. These messages are in good faith.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
You will not speak highly of these blastfimull teachings, you will stop at this very moment of your ill teachings. You have poisoned enough of the faithful men and woman of God.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
Those men and women that have been so surely poisoned are there lives better for what I have brought them, do the not prosper?(Puller stands)do you not see that without these teachings we are doomed?
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
(looks hard at Anne Hutchinson)(he starts to speak but has a very viscous tone)If you speak of the Hudson’s and Pulmmer’s then you will be pleased to know that they too have been placed under arrest.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
What?
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
Both of the wifes have been found guilty of Witchcraft, they will be hung tomorrow evening.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
(gasps)You can not do this, they are all burdened by me sir, do not blame them do not.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
Then you are admitting to your treachery?
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
Never will I, but you can not murderer these innocent people, I will bare the burden for them.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
(his voice soft and forcefully) You sweat as you say this! You plead to me! You ask for pardon of friendly beings! (Yelling) All signs of guilt.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
I have no guilt for what I have done.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
You may not see your guilt but its there. It hides away like a scared child.(walks to the far end of the room) You have cursed the name of the Lord with guilt and you show this on your face. I am not un unreasonable man sister Wheeler, if you admit to your sins now, and confess of your witchcraft I will pardon you.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
I will never admit to anything such, I am a pure woman I have never compacted with the Devil and I have never performed Witchcraft.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
There are Witnesses Sister Hutchinson, people who saw you, your Children!
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
My Children? What have you done to them?
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
I have done nothing to them Sister Wheeler, but they have told me the stories of your cruelty, and your witchcraft.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
They have told you nothing!
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
Are you sure of that? Does this not sound like your son James, (reapating what he had heard from James) Mommy would put spells on our neighbors and promise us not to tell, it was a secret!
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
Stop it! He never said that.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
Oh he did Sister Hutchinson and I believe I remeber your eldest daughter Sarah speaking of your teachings of Witchcraft to your children.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
I have never tought my children witchcraft. Black magic is the key to satan.(begining to cry)
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
and are you not in compact him as we speak?
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
(speaking through tears)I have not compacted with the Devil sir I have not.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
Then why is it that your children speak of it as you did, and why do your neighbors say so as well, admit it Sister Wheeler you are a witch?
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
(yelling) I say I am not.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
(points finger at her) WITCH, admit it, Witch, admit it witch.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
I am not I am not am not am not, I am a child of God, I am not and will never be a friend of Satan.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
If you do not admit to your crimes, you will Die, admit to your crimes and I will have you pardoned.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
(she is crying, she has her head turned away from John she sits still with her hand tied behind her back, she bows her head and then raises it, she looks hard at the face of John, she doesnt want to speak you can see this in her eyes) Full Pardon sir?
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
Full pardon sister wheeler, know admit to me your crime!
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
(whispering) I am witch.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
Would you so kindly speak up?
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
(she speaks up just a little) I am a witch.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
LOUDER!
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
(speaking in a strong voice) I am a witch.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
(a smile comes accros his face as he stares at Anne Hutchinson ) Then you admit to being a Witch……Therfore you shall be punished.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
(very taken aback) What about the Pardon?
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
I give no pardons to Witches, you will die,or be banished (points finger at Bible) God will has his vengince on your soul, and you will burn, You will burn, and You will die a witch.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
You can not do this, You can not do this, you can not do this, My Children Sir.
MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
Oh dont wory about your children,t hey will be taken care of, and thanks to your testimony it is clear that your children have been taught in the ways of black magic and for that they shall be banished along with you.
ANNE HUTCHINSON:
(Puller walks over to her grabs her hands and pulls her up they stare hard at each other and then Puller starts to walk her out of the room and she shouts) John Puller, you shall burn in the depths of Hell for what you have done, I curse your soul, I curse Your soul, I curse your soul.(the soft music begins to play as the lights slowly dim to a black out,and then you hear the voice of Minister John Puller)
VOICE OF MINISTER JOHN PULLER:
Anne Hutchinson was found guilty on this day of High Heresy in the eyes of the all beholder, she and her family will be banished to Rhode Island, and there she will suffer the inflections that the Lord almighty shall place upon her. On this day Anne Hutchinson is no longer a child of God. She is no longer a Sister to this community(music begins to play louder and louder, the lights fade up and “another girl” played by the same girl as Anne Hutchison, sits at the table, facing her is Minister John Puller, they are “frozen in place” then movment by John Puller awakens them from their “frozen” stance, Minister John Puller picks up the bible and points at it)Do you know what this book contains? (and the lights fade to black)
CURTAIN:

Leave a Reply

